Blog Tour Scavenge the Stars

Today I’m really excited to be taking part in the Book Tour of, Scavenge The Scars
by Tara Sim, which is being hosted by FFBC !

Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)

by Tara Sim
Publisher: Disney Hyperion
Release Date: January 7th 2020

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retellings
 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpgImageImageImageImage
Synopsis:
When Amaya rescues a mysterious stranger from drowning, she fears her rash actions have earned her a longer sentence on the debtor ship where she’s been held captive for years. Instead, the man she saved offers her unimaginable riches and a new identity, setting Amaya on a perilous course through the coastal city-state of Moray, where old-world opulence and desperate gamblers collide. Amaya wants one thing: revenge against the man who ruined her family and stole the life she once had. But the more entangled she becomes in this game of deception—and as her path intertwines with the son of the man she’s plotting to bring down—the more she uncovers about the truth of her past. And the more she realizes she must trust no one…
Packed with high-stakes adventure, romance, and dueling identities, this gender-swapped retelling of The Count of Monte Cristo is the first novel in an epic YA fantasy duology, perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Sabaa Tahir,.
This book was received from the Author, and Publisher, in exchange for an honest review. Opinions and thoughts expressed in this review are completely my own.
Thank you to Disney Hyperion and The Fantastic Flying Book Club for an arc in exchange for an honest review.
“…I’m beginning to learn the only way to move forward is by confronting the mistakes of your past”
Every man carries his sins a different way.”
Because children are the victims of their parents’ crimes.”
“This, though – it wasn’t survival. Not really. It was merely kindness, and friendship, and Amaya had no idea what to do with either.”
Tara Sim’s, Scavenge the Stars is the first installment in the authors epic fantasy duology. A stunning Ya Fantasy Retelling, Packed with high stakes adventure, romance, and dueling identities, this gender-swapped, diverse, retelling of The Count of Monte Cristo
The world building is seamlessly blended with historical European influenced hierarchy along with a subtropical world. Where in the city state of Moray, children shoulder their parent’s debts, just like they did in Europe between the 1300’s to the 1870’s
Tara Sim delivers an atmospheric, adventurous, engaging, and well written read here that is told from different POV,s. Amaya Chandra, nicknamed Silverfish, has been paying off her fathers debt for the last seven years, aboard the debtors ship, the Brackish.
Amaya has survived the grueling unethical treatment and harsh conditions on ship that is commanded by a vile captain, Capt. Zharo.
As her time upon the Brackish is drawing to an end, an event occurs that Amaya doesn’t think twice about. When she ignores the captain’s orders and rescues a mysterious man, who goes by the name Boon, from near fatal drowning, Silverfish is told that her sentence aboard the ship will be extended. The man Boon, offers her a very unique opportunity. One that Amaya, can turn down, more wealth than she can begin to imagine, in exchange for her help exacting revenge upon Kamon Mercado, a merchant in the city of Moray.
A rich diverse charter driven plot line makes this a stunning book. Amaya’s ruthlessness, desire for revenge, along with her desperation in needing to understand what happened to her family seven years ago makes her character completely relatable. Silverfish, aka, Amaya, undergoes a transformation makeover, along with some training under Boon’s tutelage and emerges into a perfect lady that is both cunning and manipulative.
The second protagonist is Cayo, a little spoiled and has a tad bit of a gambling problem, but when he discovers his family legacy is all a treacherous lie. He takes things into his own hands, and does what it takes to save himself and his sister.
Amaya is both unapologetically and determined to right all of the wrongs that had been done to her. Motivated ultimately by her revenge, she wants to burn the entire system down. Cayo and Amaya story becomes intertwined in creative inspired take on a much loved classic.
The strength of this novel handsdown is the author’s fabulous characterizations. Tara Sim writing definitely shines when it comes to how interesting and fleshed out her characters are. Sexual diversity; Cayo is bisexual, and another character is asexual. A great representation of racial diversity in Ya fantasy.
#ScavengetheStars
#DisneyHyperion
#YoungAdult2020

GIVEAWAY
Prize: Win finished copy of SCAVENGE THE STARS by Tara Sim (US Only)
Starts: 1st January 2020

Ends: 15th January 2020

a Rafflecopter giveaway
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

January 1st

The Unofficial Addiction Book Fan Club – Welcome

January 2nd

Kait Plus Books – Interview

L.M. Durand – Review

Books.Bags.Burgers – Review + Favourite Quotes

Library of a Book Witch – Review

Write, Read, Repeat – Review

January 3rd

NovelKnight – Guest Post

Wishful Endings – Review

Gwendalyn’s Books – Review + Favourite Quotes

Fanna Wants The World To Read – Review

Feed Your Fiction Addiction – Review

January 4th

The Reading Corner for All – Review + Favourite Quotes

Here’s to Happy Endings – Review

Book Lover’s Book Reviews – Review

mabookyard – Review + Favourite Quotes

Lauren’s Boookshelf – Review

January 5th

A Book Addict’s Bookshelves – Guest Post

Book briefs – Review

Story-eyed Reviews – Review

Alys in Bookland – Review

biblioxytocin – Review + Playlist + Favourite Quotes

January 6th

Bookathon – Review

Sometimes Leelynn Reads – Review + Dream Cast

Confessions of a YA Reader – Review

Lost in Storyland – Review

Becky’s Book Blog – Review

January 7th

Utopia State of Mind – Interview

Amy’s Booket List – Review

Flipping Through the Pages – Review

Foals, Fiction & Filigree – Review + Favourite Quotes

PopTheButterfly Reads – Review

Tara Sim is the author of SCAVENGE THE STARS (Disney-Hyperion) and the TIMEKEEPER trilogy (Sky Pony Press) and writer of all things magic. She can often be found in the wilds of the Bay Area, California.
Image
.
********Click on the image above to submit your proof of purchase*********

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.