A TRACE OF DECEIT

Hello Lovelies,
Today Is My Stop On 
A Trace of Deceit by USA Today Bestseller Author
Karen Odden @karen_m_odden
Publisher @williammorrowbooks
Thank you so much @hfvbt for sending me Exceptional Book

78D1E400-8803-405F-A8C1-EECA4F04F2E7

A TRACE OF DECEIT BY KAREN ODDEN

Publication Date: December 17, 2019
William Morrow
Paperback & eBook; 416 pages.
Genre: Historical Mystery/Victorian

From the author of A Dangerous Duet comes the next book in her Victorian mystery series, this time following a daring female painter and the Scotland Yard detective who is investigating her brother’s suspicious death.

A young painter digs beneath the veneer of Victorian London’s art world to learn the truth behind her brother’s murder…

Edwin is dead. That’s what Inspector Matthew Hallam of Scotland Yard tells Annabel Rowe when she discovers him searching her brother’s flat for clues. While the news is shocking, Annabel can’t say it’s wholly unexpected, given Edwin’s past as a dissolute risk-taker and art forger, although he swore he’d reformed. After years spent blaming his reckless behavior for their parents’ deaths, Annabel is now faced with the question of who murdered him—because Edwin’s death was both violent and deliberate. A valuable French painting he’d been restoring for an auction house is missing from his studio: find the painting, find the murderer. But the owner of the artwork claims it was destroyed in a warehouse fire years ago.

As a painter at the prestigious Slade School of Art and as Edwin’s closest relative, Annabel makes the case that she is crucial to Matthew’s investigation. But in their search for the painting, Matthew and Annabel trace a path of deceit and viciousness that reaches far beyond the elegant rooms of the auction house, into an underworld of politics, corruption, and secrets someone will kill to keep.

AMAZON | BARNES AND NOBLE | BOOKS-A-MILLION | INDIEBOUND

Praise for A Trace of Deceit

“Odden’s third effort injects a refreshing level of complexity, both in character development and plotting, into what one typically expects to find in historical cozies. This will appeal to fans of Victorian mysteries, as well as those interested in art history.” -Booklist (starred review)

“Odden keenly evokes the physical as well as cultural milieu of Victorian England, and peoples her setting with fully realized and intriguing characters. This book will delight readers who like their mysteries cloaked in well-researched history.” -Publishers Weekly

“…this thrilling, action-packed story [is] an absolute delight to read.” -Historical Novel Society

“Odden’s literary brushstrokes vividly portray the misogyny and gender bias experienced by women in Victorian society, especially a woman battling to exercise her artistic talent. ” -Washington Independent Review of Books

“Fans of Anne Perry, Deanna Rayborn, and Tasha Alexander will root for Karen Odden’s newest heroine, Annabel Rowe—aspiring painter and now amateur sleuth—investigating the murder of her art forger brother. The novel’s a delightful mix of mystery, history, and romance, served with a delicious helping of lush period detail, while chemistry between Annabel and the investigating Scotland Yard detective add spice to the adventure.” -Susan Elia MacNeal, New York Times bestselling author of the Maggie Hope series

“A darkly thrilling story filled with suspense and secrets, a courageous heroine, an edgy climax, and an atmospheric setting that perfectly captures the underbelly of London’s art world in the Victorian era. A Trace of Deceit is an absolute winner!” -Stefanie Pintoff, Edgar Award winning author

Victorian London

“I think all of our memories have a trace of deceit in them.

A suspenseful historical fiction novel with stunning characters development and complex relationships. The setting and time period are brought to life with unique details during London’s Victorian era. The story follows Annabel Rowe, a talented artist, who is one only female students at the Slade School of Art. She has been estranged from her distant troubled brother, Edwin. When new of his brutal death, along with some critical information leading up to the motive. She and Inspector Matthew Hallam of Scotland Yard seek to discover clues about a valuable French painting that her wayward brother had been restoring for an auction house.

The author has created a strong independent heroine, Annabe Rowe. That is paired with an intriguing Matthew Hallam. I enjoyed reading this suspenseful mystery.

The plot moves at a good pace with the romance taking the backseat to the well developed art mystery. The plot line takes the reader as Annabel and Matthew go beyond the art world in their search for the painting. There are few twists I didn’t see coming. The writing flows and keeps you immersed within this fitting representation to storyline. Annabel and Matthew chemistry adds to this masterpiece of this engaging mystery.

Ms. Odden meticulous research and vibrant descriptions of art painting and the auction world are detailed and expansive. Karen Odden, keeps the reader engaged, in this thrilling action packed Victorian mystery.

A Trace of Deceit, is a impressive novel, perfectly paced with the right amount intrigue and suspense.

I am in insatiable reader and every now and then you are given the chance to read an exceptional novel. A Trace of Deceit by Karen Odden, has a little gothic feel to it. Her use details are suspenseful as they draw you into the depths of tale.

I have to say that this book is so cleverly executed, and stands out amongst the historical mystery genre. I love when I find a new author that I can rave about

Karen Odden has become an auto buy for me. I am excited to read what she writes next.!!

Karen Odden received her Ph.D. in English literature from New York University and taught at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. She has contributed essays and chapters to books and journals, including Studies in the Novel, the Journal of Victorian Culture, and Victorian Crime, Madness, and Sensation; she has written introductions for Barnes and Noble editions of books by Dickens and Trollope; and she edited for the academic journal Victorian Literature and Culture. She freely admits she might be more at home in nineteenth-century London than today, especially when she tries to do anything complicated on her iPhone. Her first novel, A Lady in the Smoke, was a USA Today bestseller and won the New Mexico-Arizona 2016 Book Award for e-Book Fiction. Her second novel, A Dangerous Duet, about a young pianist who stumbles on a notorious crime ring while playing in a Soho music hall in 1870s London, won the New Mexico-Arizona 2019 Book Award for Best Historical Fiction. A Trace of Deceit is her third novel. She resides in Arizona with her family and a ridiculously cute beagle named Rosy.

WEBSITE | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | PINTEREST | BOOKBUB | GOODREADS

During the Blog Tour, we are giving away one paperback copy of A Trace of Deceit! To enter, please use the Gleam form below.

The giveaway is open to US residents only and ends on October 2nd.You must be 18 or older to enter.

Enter👇🏻

https://gleam.io/competitions/qxgBy-a-trace-of-deceit

Monday, September 7
Review at Books and Backroads
Review at WTF Are You Reading?

Tuesday, September 8
Feature at I’m All About Books

Wednesday, September 9
Review at Hallie Reads

Thursday, September 10
Review at Gwendalyn’s Books

Friday, September 11
Review at Historical Fiction with Spirit

Monday, September 14
Review at Pursuing Stacie

Tuesday, September 15
Review at Faery Tales Are Real

Wednesday, September 16
Review at Into the Hall of Books

Thursday, September 17
Review at Novels Alive

Friday, September 18
Review at A Darn Good Read

Saturday, September 19
Review at Nursebookie

Monday, September 21
Review at Books and Zebras

Tuesday, September 22
Review at Passages to the Past

Thursday, September 24
Guest Post at Novels Alive

Friday, September 25
Review at The Lit Bitch

Monday, September 28
Review at Amy’s Booket List
Review at Chicks, Rogues, and Scandals

Tuesday, September 29
Review at Impressions In Ink
Review at Writing the Renaissance

Wednesday, September 30
Review at Probably at the Library
Guest Post at Writing the Renaissance

Thursday, October 1
Excerpt at Books In Their Natural Habitat
Review at History from a Woman’s Perspective

Friday, October 2
Review at Jessica Belmont
Review at Jorie Loves A Story
Review at View from the Birdhouse

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.