Hello Readers
Welcome to my stop on
Dark and Shallow Lies by Ginny Myers Sain.

Dark and Shallow Lies
Ginny Myers Sain

Publisher: Razorbill

Release Date: September 7th, 2021

Page Length: 432 Pages

Genre: Fantasy, Mystery, Thriller

Age Range: Young Adult/ Adult

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound

Synopsis:

A teen girl disappears from her small town deep in the bayou, where magic festers beneath the surface of the swamp like water rot, in this chilling debut supernatural thriller for fans of Natasha Preston, Karen McManus, and Rory Power.

La Cachette, Louisiana, is the worst place to be if you have something to hide.

This tiny town, where seventeen-year-old Grey spends her summers, is the self-proclaimed Psychic Capital of the World–and the place where Elora Pellerin, Grey’s best friend, disappeared six months earlier.

Grey can’t believe that Elora vanished into thin air any more than she can believe that nobody in a town full of psychics knows what happened. But as she digs into the night that Elora went missing, she begins to realize that everybody in town is hiding something – her grandmother Honey; her childhood crush Hart; and even her late mother, whose secrets continue to call to Grey from beyond the grave.

When a mysterious stranger emerges from the bayou – a stormy-eyed boy with links to Elora and the town’s bloody history – Grey realizes that La Cachette’s past is far more present and dangerous than she’d ever understood. Suddenly, she doesn’t know who she can trust. In a town where secrets lurk just below the surface, and where a murderer is on the loose, nobody can be presumed innocent–and La Cachette’s dark and shallow lies may just rip the town apart.

REVIEW
AUTHOR

This book was received from the Author, and Publisher, in exchange for an honest review. Opinions and thoughts expressed in this review are completely my own.

This is a non spoiler review, because you as reader need to read this book. Also, I feel sometimes I have in the past gave away to much of the plot line. This has diminished the pleasure for would be readers.

“The dead? They lie. Just like the rest of us.”

DARK AND SHALLOW LIES is a fast moving urban southern gothic, with magical realism. Having lived most of my life in Southern Louisiana, this book is spectacular to say the least. Rich atmospheric imagery, and incredible details, that places the reader right into the authors fictional town of La Cachette, Louisiana!

Six months ago Elora Pellerin, Grey’s best friend disappeared without a trace in La Cachette, Grey returns every summer to Louisiana to stay with her grandma Miss Roselyn .. aka ..Honey!

La Cachette is the self proclaimed bayou town known as the Psychic Capital of the World. Because every town’s claim to fame in Louisiana is the capital of something or another. This is the gods honest truth!

A complete set children, ten in all, born in the same year between the vernal equinox and the autumnal equinox. Born to eight different families, called The Summer Children. All of these children have strange abilities, Grey has believed that she has been spared these gift until now. She’s been getting little flashes of bits of details concerning her friend Elora disappearance. While desperate to figure out what happened to her best friend Elora, she uses her summer to unravel the town’s dark complex secrets.

This book is a solid written tale, the complexities of human nature are displayed in way that immediately drew me in. The cast of characters along with the main protagonist were really well done. Their sinister friendships, and romance only added more to the gritty storyline. The author is a superb setting up the backdrop for this book. Each atmospheric imagery is spot on from the sweltering heat, to the snakes and alligator, to the eclectic people who make up the tiny town.

The dialogue along with the authors prose was exceptionally done. I have to say I have saved so many quotes from this book.

The story was suspenseful and absolutely un-put-down-able!!!! 

Even if you were able to figure out some of the turns and twist, Ginny Myers Sain seamless narration has made the process a delightful reading experience. The plot flowed and the way all the lose ends came together was captivating.

I really loved the ending with hurricane!

Excited to see what this author comes up next

**The story’s setting is just like the little town of Cassadaga FL, but set in a fictional town in the area of Plaquemines Parish, Louisiana! **

Ginny Myers Sainis the author of DARK AND SHALLOW LIES, her debut YA novel available 8-31-21 from Razorbill/Penguin. Although she comes from a long line of writers, her first love has always been the theatre. She has a degree in theatre and has spent most of her career teaching acting and directing plays and musicals. Ginny currently live in Tulsa, Oklahoma, with her teenage son and a very cowardly doberman named Shipley. When she is not working in the theatre or writing, you’re likely to find her listening to true crime podcasts, taking pictures of alligators, eating tacos, or planning a trip to Walt Disney World.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Facebook

1 Comment on “Dark and Shallow Lies

  1. Pingback: TOUR SCHEDULE: Dark and Shallow Lies by Ginny Myers Sain – TBR and Beyond Tours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: