Hello everyone! I am so excited to be apart of the blog tour for

To Break A Covenant By Alison Ames

@tbrbeyondtours & @2furiosa

#tobreakacovenant #TBRBeyondTours #alisonames

To Break A Covenant By Alison Ames

Genre: Young Adult Horror
Publishing date: September 21st, 2021

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo

Content Warning: Gore! lots of gore/blood (human and animal), body horror (human and animal), claustrophobia, hallucinations/nightmares, death, animal death, parent death (mentioned), parental conflict (being afraid of a parent), mention of alcohol/drinking, mention of self-harm, mention of divorce, mental illness (perceived/actual), mention of child death/killing, mention of suicide, drowning, paranormal activity

SYNOPSIS

Debut voice Alison Ames delivers with a chilling, feminist thriller, perfect for fans of Wilder Girls and Sawkill Girls.

Moon Basin has been haunted for as long as anyone can remember. It started when an explosion in the mine killed sixteen people. The disaster made it impossible to live in town, with underground fires spewing ash into the sky. But life in New Basin is just as fraught. The ex-mining town relies on its haunted reputation to bring in tourists, but there’s more truth to the rumors than most are willing to admit, and the mine still has a hold on everyone who lives there.

Clem and Nina form a perfect loop—best friends forever, and perhaps something more. Their circle opens up for a strange girl named Lisey with a knack for training crows, and Piper, whose father is fascinated with the mine in a way that’s anything but ordinary. The people of New Basin start experiencing strange phenomena—sleepwalking, night terrors, voices that only they can hear. And no matter how many vans of ghost hunters roll through, nobody can get to the bottom of what’s really going on. Which is why the girls decide to enter the mine themselves.

REVIEW

From the desk of Gwendalyn Anderson

This is a non spoiler review, because you as reader need to read this book. Also, I feel sometimes I have in the past gave away to much of the plot line. This has diminished the pleasure for would be readers.

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This was one of the best invented urban gothic books I have had a chance to read this year! A horror intense filled spooky read, that really took me by surprise!

Moon Basin is a haunted paranormal hotspot, after a tragedy engulfed the town. Leaving the original coal town of Moon Basin completely abandoned.

The residence duplicate as much from the original town and relocate to a close proximity to the original town. Why the relocation of town you ask?

Strange occurrences happen to anyone that lived in the original part of town and those who are paranormal thrill seekers who venture back in there. People suffer from mental breaks and horrific deaths. A fact of life for those growing up in and around this sinister area!

For Clem and her best friend Nina, who have grew up within the creepier than hell town. Their friendship is everything, the girls are completely inseparable. Add a move in by the name of Lisey, who is a peculiar person in touch with her second senses. Then add Piper a temporary resident, who’s father has been hired to investigate and come up with a solution to make the old coal mine safe again.

The books compelling element that holds this book all together is these four fierce girls. Their friendship is what I absolutely loved reading about. Each one completely unique, but together they make up a unified force. They complement each other, which in turn gives the storyline great dynamics. They face incredible obstacles together, staying strong in the bonds of friendship.

Now let’s talk about the authors narration concerning the setting. Everything, I mean everything slowly takes the reader through a nail biting, creep yourself out atmosphere. You become submerged in the ominous coal town of Moon Basin.

You feel just enough of a presence to raise the tiny hairs on the back of your neck. while flipping through the pages. The writing is incredible and loved reading every minute of it!

A perfect book to start your spooky season off.

I Don’t take my word for it… read it for your own conclusions!

AUTHOR

Alison Ames is a writer based in Colorado. Her debut novel To Break A Covenant will be published in fall 2021.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

6 Comments on “To Break A Convenant Blog Tour

  1. Pingback: Book Tour: To Break A Covenant by Alison Ames – Justice for Readers

  2. Pingback: Sunday Sum-Up: Much Anticipated Review Copies & A Reading Slump - Bibliosini

  3. Pingback: Book Tour: To Break a Covenant by Alison Ames | Spotlight – Nine Bookish Lives

  4. Pingback: TOUR SCHEDULE: To Break a Covenant by Alison Ames – TBR and Beyond Tours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: