Hello There Bookish Friends

Welcome to my stop on Sofi and the Bone Song Book Tour ♡

@tbrbeyondtours & @adriennetooley #sofiandthebonesong #TBRBeyondTours #adriennetooley

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Publishing date: April 19th, 2022

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | IndieBound

Synopsis:

In this gorgeous, queer standalone fantasy, a young musician sets out to expose her rival for illegal use of magic only to discover the deception goes deeper than she could have imagined—perfect for fans of An Enchantment of Ravens!

Music runs in Sofi’s blood.

Her father is a Musik, one of only five musicians in the country licensed to compose and perform original songs. In the kingdom of Aell, where winter is endless and magic is accessible to all, there are strict anti-magic laws ensuring music remains the last untouched art.

Sofi has spent her entire life training to inherit her father’s title. But on the day of the auditions, she is presented with unexpected competition in the form of Lara, a girl who has never before played the lute. Yet somehow, to Sofi’s horror, Lara puts on a performance that thoroughly enchants the judges.

Almost like magic.

The same day Lara wins the title of Musik, Sofi’s father dies, and a grieving Sofi sets out to prove Lara is using illegal magic in her performances. But the more time she spends with Lara, the more Sofi begins to doubt everything she knows about her family, her music, and the girl she thought was her enemy.

As Sofi works to reclaim her rightful place as a Musik, she is forced to face the dark secrets of her past and the magic she was trained to avoid—all while trying not to fall for the girl who stole her future.


REVIEW

This book was received from the Author, and Publisher, in exchange for an honest review. Opinions and thoughts expressed in this review are completely my own.

Sofi and the Bone Song

by Adrienne Tooley

SOFI & THE BONE SONG is a standalone fantasy about a young musician whose plan for her future falls apart when another girl wins the title she’s been training her whole life for. It’s got magic, music, taverns, an endless winter, sapphic romance, and an exploration and dismantling of the idea that people should suffer for their art.

Adrienne Tooley’s newest release is a lush and musical YA fantasy

Sofi life long dream is to follow in her father’s footsteps and become a Musik. In the Kingdom of Aell, there are only five musicians in the whole country who hold a special license to preform and write original songs.

Never ending winter, the Kingdom of Aell, is blanked with snow and ice. Sofi has stringently dedicated her life to music and her goal to finally becoming a Musik like her father is abruptly halted when she is usurped by an unknown beautiful girl named Lara. That dream comes shattering to a halt, and her long countless hours of practicing has not resulted in the outcome she wished for.

Struggling with this epic loss and reeling in her father’s passing, she seeks to prove that Lara on the day of competition used illegal magic. Sofi steps up, and offers to accompany Lara on her tour and write her songs. Hoping to catch Laura and prove to herself and everyone else that she is not forthright. Sofi will allow Lara to take the credit in exchange Lara will make her her own apprentice. As the two girls spend more time together a close and budding relationship flourishes.

A coming of age emotional journey, readers will be given glimpse of Sofia’s past and see that it was completely taken up by intense training and she had no real childhood to speak of. She will come to turns what her father had been secretly holding from her, along with who her mother really was.

Adrienne Tooley, has written a beautiful, vivid and established world with fully fleshed out characters, along with a exceptional magical system. A budding sapphic romance that was lovely. The magic and political world system was easy to follow.

This book deals with a very realistic ongoing topic, and I found it was depicted in a thoughtful, emotional way. A YA fantasy that has substance, with a clear message, one of self love, and excepting who you are. To forge a new path when the one you thought you wanted is redirected.

Thank you to TBR and Beyond Tours and Margaret K. McElderry Books for the ARC


AUTHOR

Adrienne Tooley (she/her) was born and raised in the desert suburbs of Southern California. She grew up in the theater, earning her B.A. in Musical Theatre from Point Park University. She and her wife currently live in New York City where she works in hospitality tech. In addition to writing novels she is also a singer/songwriter and has released several EPs which are available on Spotify & other streaming sites. Her debut novel, SWEET & BITTER MAGIC, is out now from S&S/McElderry. Her second novel, SOFI AND THE BONE SONG, will release from S&S/McElderry in 2022. She can be found on Instagram and Twitter at @adriennetooley.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads


Tour Schedule

April 18th
Stuck in Fiction – Promotional Post
dinipandareads – Review & Favorite Quotes
Rampant Reading Reviews – Review & Favorite Quotes
Gwendalyn’s Books – Review

April 19th
AndOnSheReads – Interview
Popthebutterfly Reads – Review
laura’s bookish corner – Review
Artfully Bookish – Review & Mood Board

April 20th
A Bookworm’s Chapters – Review & Favorite Quotes
Althea Is Reading – Review
Book Notes by Athina – Promotional Post

April 21st
Lemmi Bookmark That! – Interview, Review & Favorite Quotes
Hopelessly Devoted Bibliophile – Review
A Court of Runes and Roses – Review & Favorite Quotes

April 22nd
Fanna for Books – Review
Binded by Letters – Review
Book lover’s book reviews – Promotional Post & Tik Tok
The Girl Who Reads – Review

April 23rd
Kait Plus Books – Interview & Mood Board
The Book Dutchesses – Promotional Post
paperbacktomes – Top 5 Reasons to Read Sofi and the Bone Song

April 24th
Nine Bookish Lives – Promotional Post
Read With Serena – Review
Rainbows and Sunshine – Review
The Bookish Coven – Review

Instagram Schedule

April 18th
simplybeccamee – Review,
feliciareads11 – Blogger’s Choice
rampant_reading – Blogger’s Choice
gwendalyn_books_ – Blogger’s Choice

April 19th
tbrandbeyond – Promotional Post
popthebutterfly – Blogger’s Choice
booksandpops4000 – Blogger’s Choice
natashaleighton_ – Blogger’s Choice

April 20th
the_ya_assassin – 15 Reactions While Reading Sofi and the Bone Song
thebookcoverlover – Review
booknotes_athina – Blogger’s Choice

April 21st
alibraryofpages – Top 5 Reasons to Read Sofi and the Bone Song
lemmibookmarkthat – Blogger’s Choice
acourtofrunesandroses – Blogger’s Choice

April 22nd
writingrosereads – Promotional Post
thegalaxydreamer – Blogger’s Choice
bookloversbookreviews – Blogger’s Choice
bookstagramofmine – Blogger’s Choice

April 23rd
mulberryreas – Review
thisreadergirl – Review
paperbacktomes – Blogger’s Choice

April 24th
theenchantedshelf – Review & Playlist
ninebookishlives – Blogger’s Choice
sanvi.bhaisare – Blogger’s Choice
rainbowsandsunshinebookblog – Blogger’s Choice

1 Comment on “Sofi and the Bone Song

  1. Pingback: TOUR SCHEDULE: Sofi and the Bone Song by Adrienne Tooley – TBR and Beyond Tours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: